Council of Ministers – Notes GK PDF

The Prime Minister of India lead the Union Council of Ministers. Not only a minister, but the entire council of ministers is responsible for formation and facilitate the new government.

Council of Minister

According to Article 75 of the Indian constitution, the ministers are appointed by the president of India with the suggestions of the Prime Minister. The President of India formed the Union Cabinet on the advice of the Prime Minister.

# There are five types of ministers in the cabinet, namely,

  1. The Prime Minister – Practically head of India
  2. Deputy Prime Minister
  3. Cabinet Ministers – Who have the top-level departments
  4. Ministers of State with independent charge – whose major offices are under cabinet minister.
  5. Ministers of State – who controls small departments.
  • The Cabinet is jointly responsible for Lok Sabha (the lower house). The cabinet is solely dependent on the president.
  • A person can be a minister for a maximum of 6 months without being a member of parliament.
  • The 91st Amendment to the Constitution in 2003 declared that the cabinet could not have more than 15 percent of the members of the legislature.
  • India’s first general election was held in 1951-52.
  • The Fifth Lok Sabha of India lasted for more than 5 years – 19/3/1971 to 18/1/1977.

Impeachment of ministers from the council

The ministers can be removed for the following reasons –

  1. If he/she died
  2. if he or she resigns himself
  3. if he or she violets the constitution, (the President dismisses him).

Notes: Fundamental Duties of Indian Constitution
Notes: Directive Principle of State Policy

Council of Minister – important general knowledge points, aspirants should remember for their competitive exams.