State Legislature of India – Notes GK

State Legislature of India has three pats, Governors/Lieutenant Governors of India, State Legislative Councils, and State Legislative Assemblies.State legislature is a bicameral system, however many states have only unicameral system.

State Legislature – general knowledge notes for competitive examinations also useful for the student of classes 9, 10, 11, and 12. All the important points on the state legislature of India are provided in this post for your exam.

01. The state legislature consists of three parts, namely the Legislative Assembly, the Legislative Council and the Governor.

02. The governor is an integral part of the state legislature. Being ‘bicameral’, the legislature is also called the ‘Bi-Cameralism System’.

03. But Legislative Assembly of West Bengal is not bicameral. In 1969, the Legislative Assembly was abolished from West Bengal.

04. However, some states have bicameral legislatures. The states with bicameral legislatures are Telangana, Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Maharashtra and Bihar.

05. The legislatures of the remaining 22 states have unicameral system.

06. Article 171 of the Constitution deals with the composition of the Legislative Assembly.

07. The Legislative Council is a permanent house. It cannot be completely abolished. One-third of its members retire every two years. New members are elected in all those seats. However, retirees can be re-elected. The term of office of its members is 6 years.

08. The abolition of the Legislative Assembly is mentioned in Article 169 of the Constitution.

09. The total number of members in the West Bengal Legislative Assembly is 295. The number of elected members is 294. 1 member is nominated by the Governor from the Anglo-Indian community. (Section 333).

10. The removal of the President and Vice-President of the Legislative Assembly is mentioned in article 183.

11. Of the 294 Assembly seats in undivided Andhra Pradesh, 119 are in Telangana and 175 in the rest of Andhra Pradesh. Both states have bicameral legislatures. The number of seats in the Legislative Assembly is 40 and 50 in Telangana and Andhra Pradesh respectively.

Comparison: Legislative Council Vs. Legislative Assembly

Legislative CouncilLegislative Assembly
Qualifications» Must be a citizen of India.
» Must be at least 30 years old.
» Should not hold a lucrative position in any corner of the government.
» Name should be on the Voter list anywhere in the state.
» There should be qualifications in the corners declared by the Parliament.
» Must be a citizen of India.
» At least 25 years old.
» No government profitable person should be allowed in any corner.
» Name must be included In the voter list of any state.
Selection Procedures» Indirect selection and nomination.
» 1/3 of the members are elected by the municipality, district board and other autonomous bodies,
» Members of the Legislative Assembly elect 1/3 of the members,
» Graduates elect 1/12 members,
» 1/1 2 part members are elected by the teachers,
» The Governor nominated the remaining 1/6 of the members.
» Direct election on the basis of universal adult suffrage.
» The Governor may nominate one of the Anglo-Indian community as required.
Duration» It is a Permanent house.
» One-third of the members retire every two years.
» The term of office of each member is six years.
» 5 years.
» Even before that, the governor can dissolve the assembly on the advice of the chief minister.
Minimum and Maximum members» Shall not be less than 40 and shall not exceed 1/3 of the number of members of the Legislative Assembly of that State.» Not less than 60 or more than 500.
» Although 32 in Sikkim, 40 in Mizoram, 30 in Arunachal Pradesh and 30 in Goa.
Power Function» Both houses may enact legislation on state-listed and joint-listed matters.
» Both houses may establish control over the governing authority of the State.
» The money bill can be raised only in the assembly.
» Only the legislature can remove the state cabinet.
» The elected representatives in the assembly vote for the presidential election.
» The Legislative Assembly can create or dissolve with the support of a majority of 1/3 of the legislature.
» Apart from the above, both the chambers can legislate on state-listed matters and establish control over the state governing authority.
differences between Legislative Council & Legislative Assembly

Download State Legislature Notes PDF

Notes: Chief Minister of States
Notes: Parliament of India